top of page

Doggy Danger

Updated: Jun 9, 2020

Amslane Day 18

Dodging dogs, fever, and ecological surveys

the goat herd

Souad walking in Ait-tougmud

Despite throwing up most of the night, but still got up early for plant surveys on the mountainside. I thought it would be a good idea to do some above one of the sheep and goat pen where Yemena keeps the alim (barley straw). Unfortunately I was foolishly unaware a large sheep dog lives there as well and proceeded to chase and bark me away so I ran for higher elevation and had to set up on a very step part of the mountainside just below a shepherds path. A bad idea on a windy day since I felt like I would be blown onto the rocky face below any moment. The dog calmed down eventually when he realised I was no harm to the sheep, glad he didn’t try to bite me or chase me further. Yemena’s brother (the shepherd) came and released his goats (several hundred) who flocked towards me stopped looking confused and continued with his calls- thankfully the dog followed. Nobody has companion dogs here- they are for the douar to care for only used to as protection for other animals and cannot go in the houses as they are deemed too dirty or dangerous. Much like cats- although it seems that cats have a favoured home they stick to for food and to rest.

Since Souad was also feeling ill, I went alone to do more surveys in another mountainside grazing area, but this time past the school away from where any dogs might be. The sun was really beating down so by the end of several hours I was very faint and decided to head back. All the women were having a wash day by the canal and so it was a little awkward when I walked by since I still understand so little Tachelhit, but its nice to interact with them on my own. The children are so funny- they were following like usual, too shy to respond to my greetings of 'Salaam-alaikum', except the one blond pale boy he actually did the hand touch. Its nice when they aren’t so scared and confused by us or just yelling Bonjour and laughing.

Late afternoon we went to see Halti Iesha in Ait-togmud (the west side of the douar)- who was so happy to see us since she thought we had left already. We did a household survey with her family and then enjoyed a lovely tea with bread, biscuits, nuts, and eventually couscous. Was feeling so feverish and weak it was quite hard to focus on the questions. So we headed back, by which time I was so out of it, I just got ready for bed and bundled up trying to sweat out the fever. Ended up throwing up a second night in a row, but still feel like we accomplished a lot today.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page